After an investigation in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts discovered that breathalyzers were not calibrated properly, 27,000 individuals with DUI convictions and guilty pleas now find themselves in a position to have their case reevaluated – without the false evidence. According to the court, there was “egregious government misconduct” performed over…
Mediation is the attempt to reach an agreement between two or more parties in a legal dispute. A mediator acts as a neutral non-interested attorney to find common ground for the parties to agree upon. When a civil complaint is filed in Vermont Superior Court, Rule 16.3 of the Vermont rules of civil procedure states that the parties must proceed with mediation prior to taking their case to trial.
What is the 42 day rule for Vermont DUIs? According to the Vermont legislature – “In no event may a final hearing occur more than 42 days after the date of the alleged offense without the consent of the defendant or for good cause shown.”
Will My Home Driver’s License Be Suspended For a Vermont DUI? All states except for 5 (Massachusetts, Michigan, Wisconsin, Tennessee, and Georgia) are part of the Driver’s License Compact. The idea behind this is that there is one license, one record for all of these states. However, it is not always that simple.
Is The Truth in the Eyes? A Brief on Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus in Vermont DUI Investigations.